Health Sciences Division

Mrs. Rhonda Davis, Dean of Health Sciences

The Health Sciences Division offers programs within the departments of Emergency Medical Services, Medical Assistant Technology, Nursing, Physical Education, Radiologic Technology, Surgical Technology, Physical Therapist Assistant, and Therapeutic Massage. Physical Education courses, including health education, first aid, and activity courses, are taught on all three campuses of Southern Union during the mornings, afternoons, and evenings. Nursing is taught on the Wadley and Opelika campuses. Emergency Medical Technician, and Advanced Emergency Technician are taught on the Wadley Campus. Emergency Medical Technology (EMT, AEMT, and Paramedic), Radiologic Technology, Surgical Technology, Wellness, and Therapeutic Massage are taught on the Opelika Campus. The Medical Assistant Technology Program and Physical Therapist Assistant Program are offered on the Valley Campus, and the Nursing Assisting and Basic & Advanced EMT programs may be offered at Valley, Wadley, or Opelika. The Health Sciences Division offers programs leading to short term certificates, awards of achievement, certificates, as well as Associate in Applied Science Degrees.

Associate in Applied Science Degree programs are career development programs especially designed for students to prepare for an occupation and at the same time enjoy the rewards of general college education. Certificate programs are also designed for students desiring to prepare themselves for immediate entry into the work force. Certificate programs are of shorter duration than degree programs and require fewer general education courses.

The College’s general education courses are transferable to other colleges and universities. The discipline-specific or professional courses in programs of study also may be transferable to a four-year college or university, thus allowing the student to complete a four-year institution.