Academic Division

Dr. Linda North, Dean of Academics

The Academic Division at Southern Union State Community College offers the Associate in Science (AS) and Associate in Applied Science (AAS) degrees. Students may also earn certificates in some curriculum areas. Academic Division departments include Business, Child Development, Fine Arts, Language Arts, Mathematics, Science, and Social Science. The Learning Resource Centers and Adult Education are also part of the Academic Division.

Since the College is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, the College’s academic courses, dependent upon an individual’s program of study, are transferable to other colleges and universities. All academic courses are taught by fully qualified instructors with a low student to teacher ratio.